For Me This Is Heaven

September 25, 2009

The first star I see may not be a star
We can’t do a thing but wait
So let’s wait for one more

And the time’s such clumsy time
Deciding if it’s time
I’m careful but not sure how it goes
You can lose yourself in your courage
When the time we had now ends
And when the big hand goes round again

Can you still feel the butterflies?
Can you still hear the last goodnight?

And the mindless comfort grows
When I’m alone with my big plans
And this is what she said gets her through it:
“If I don’t let myself be happy now then when?”
If not now when?
The time we had now ends
And when the big hand goes round again

Can you still feel the butterflies?
Can you still hear the last goodnight?

I close my eyes and believe
That wherever you are, angel
For when the time we had now ends
And when the big hand goes round again

Can you still feel the butterflies?
Can you still hear the last goodnight?

Jimmy Eat World wrote this song and released it on their album titled Clarity, which was released over 10 years ago. This song has taken on such meaning in my life, it always has. That’s why I call it’s been my favorite song for as long as I can remember.

I was discussing it with a good friend earlier and I saw how beautiful it was in a new way. It’s a sad song. It’s a song about worry. It’s a song about pain. That’s something we all feel on a daily basis.

I just thought i’d share these lyrics with you.

-Jacob Aaron Bundren

Leave a Reply

